By definition, Uganda considers power plants with a generation capacity below 50 MW as small power plants. As at the endof 2017, the small hydro power plants on the national grid included Bugoye (Mobuku II), Kabalega (Buseruka), Ishasha, Mobuku I, Mobuku III, Muvumbe, and Siiti 1. Muvumbe and Siiti 1 Power Plants were commissioned in 2017. These small hydro power plants generated a total of 267.8 GWh in 2017 as compared to 282.8 GWh in 2016 signifying a 5% reduction. This drop was mainly attributed to the closure of Bugoye (Mobuku II) power plant in the second and third quarters of 2017 because of power plant repairs.

Click here for Detailed Statistics